We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message

Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Hard drive replacement

dg22

Likes # 0

Hi,

I have been having problems with my laptop recently and after a visit to the local computer repairs store was told the hard drive was worn out/knackered, so am looking to replace it, but have no idea what I'm looking for (complete novice with this area).

The laptop is a Lenovo 3000 n200, good few years old, had no real problems with it up to now. Main use is a little bit of work, nothing heavy, and football manager quite a bit. I'm looking for the replacement to be adequate to deal with this and also reasonably affordable, as I am a student.

Any advice and product suggestions are welcome.

Thanks, Dan

Like this post
rdave13

Likes # 0

It looks as the original had a 160GB 2.5" hard-drive and running Vista. You'll have to physically check if it's a Sata or Ide drive.I suspect Sata. Different connections shown Here.

If the original drive is still running then use it as little as possible so you can get someone to clone it. If you have the original restore to factory settings discs or the burnt ones you can use these on a new drive. Check key is still visible underneath or have you made a note of it?

Use something like Doubledriver to back-up all non Windows drivers if you can.

Back to the drive you can install a bigger hard-drive (not in physical size) such as a 250GB so long as it's 2.5".

Like this post
lotvic

Likes # 0

Levono harddrive ClickHere for discussion on which to get.