We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Totalling columns in Excel 2007

Channel

Likes # 0

I have a spreadsheet for household accounts.I wish to total columns of mixed positive and negative numbers(currency) at the month's end.Using the quick sum method gives incorrect totals.How can I do it-other than by hand with a calculator ? (The columns have 46 rows.)There must surely be a way.I am fairly new to Excel, so if there is a straightforward way, I'd prefer it.Excel help doesn't help !

Like this post
TonyV

Likes # 0

Channel

Surely you can use =SUM(A12:A32) in any column, where A12 is the start cell and A32 is the last cell.

TonyV

Like this post
lotvic

Likes # 0

Yes, if you want the total to show in cell A47, just put cursor in cell A47 and type =SUM(A1:A46) and then press Enter.

Like this post
Simsy

Likes # 0

When you say the incorrect answers are given, can you be a little more specific?

How are you differentiating the positive and negative values?

Regards,

Simsy

Like this post
Channel

Likes # 0