We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

running 2 operating systems

smeetle

Likes # 0

I have 2 hard drives in my pc,drive c and e,drive e contains windows xp and drive c is empty,my question is can i install windows 7 onto drive c and switch between operating systems on the same pc.also i have a spare hard drive which already has windows 7 on it,can i just connect that up in place of my empty drive c,i hope this makes sense as i am a bit off a novice..many thks..smeet

Like this post
bremner

Likes # 1

Depending how much of a novice you are have a read of this Dual Booting XP and Windows 7

Like this post
lotvic

Likes # 1

Dual boot, may or may not be possible depending on your setup. Is your W7 product key Retail or OEM and not installed on another pc (Retail licence 1 pc or is it a 3 pc's allowed)

May I ask how you ended up with XP on E:\ and C:\ empty?

It is important to know the history of installations as the MBR is probably on C: even though you do not have any personal documents on it.

As to the harddrive with W7 on it - you can't just take one harddrive out of a pc and put it in another. For a start the motherboard drivers will not match.

That is just my opinion so suggest you wait for others to post.

Like this post
smeetle

Likes # 0