We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message

Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Can I make my printer work on a wireless network?

al's left peg
Resolved

Likes # 0

Hi guys,

I am a total novice to this and I might have even posted it in the wrong forum. I own a Samsung ML1865 laser printer and this is connected via USB to my 21" Imac.

I want to be able to make this printer wireless so other members of my family can print from it without having to unplug the usb and keep plugging it into other laptops owned by my family.

I could sell it and buy the wireless version of my printer but after reading reviews of it, the wireless set up does not seem to work well and looks very problematic..

What I would like to do is possibly buy a piece of kit to enable this printer to work wirelessly on my own network. A guy at work who works in the IT dept said it was possible by using something called a print server and then went in to a long technical explanation of how it's possible to use a standalone PC as a print server, or I could purchase one and so on and so on. He totally lost me to be honest, it sounded like it would be easier to plan a new space program than do what he was saying.

As there is always someone on here who can explain in easy terms the ways to do these things, I thought I would ask here for a clear explanation.

I am off to work now but would be grateful for any advice anybody can offer on this subject. Thanks in advance Al

Like this post
Ian in Northampton

Likes # 0