We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

First Build concerns???

paulblundall

Likes # 0

Hello all...

I'm fairly new here but have been browsing this website for months, trying my hardest to research my new PC that I'm putting together (my first) for my Uni studies (yes, Im a mature student, but still in full time work), and am unsure so far of the compatibility of my components, and my question to you all would be, "Can anyone foresee any concerns with compatibility issues so far for the components that I have purchased before I go ahead and assemble it?". The components I have so far are:

1 - Asus P9X79 Deluxe mother board. 2 - Intel I7 3820 CPU. 3 - Sapphire Radeon HD 6970. 4 - Intel 60GB 520 SSD. (Boot drive) 5 - Sandisk Extreme 120Gb SSD. (Was origionally going to use a HDD for main drive, but have decided to go the SSD route and will purchase further storage space as and when I need it as I do not need massive amounts of storage. Although I am unsure if its a good idea to have a seperate SSD boot drive now I have decided to go the SSD main drive route???)

I am not looking to over clock anything and would also appreciate recomendations for a suitable PSU and fan/heat sink. I've also yet to figure out what speed memory to slot into the Mobo.