We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Acronis recovery to new hard disk

Pineman100
Resolved

Likes # 0

The HDD in my HP laptop has crashed - terminally. So I have to replace it.

I have an Acronis True Image 12 full system image that I intend to restore to the new HDD, but I've never done this before and there's one aspect of the process that I don't understand.

If I buy a new HDD, it's likely to be a larger capacity than the old 320GB one. Will ATI restore the system image successfully to a different sized drive?

I'd be very grateful for advice on this - and any other aspects of the recovery process.

Like this post
Fruit Bat /\0/\

Likes # 0

Yes it will create a partition on the bigger drive once installed you can then merge partitions to get the full size back.

Like this post
Pineman100

Likes # 0

Many thanks Fruit Bat /\0/.

May I add one further question about what I've done so far to check that it is definitely the HDD that's failed?

After Windows 7 hung, the only boot option it would offer me was Startup Repair. I ran this several times and it always stopped halfway through.

I then booted from my Acronis boot disk and tried to restore from my latest system image on my external HDD. This ran for a while (while I was out) and when I came back it had reported "Restore Failed".

I then ran the hard disk checker in by BIOS. This got as far as 54% complete then just stopped.

At this point I reckone dmy drive was dead. Would you agree?

Like this post
Fruit Bat /\0/\

Likes # 0