We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message

Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Format laptop problems

bluemoon69
Resolved

Likes # 0

Hi all and thanks in advance. Need to format my old laptop so i can give to the wife nice and clean. Now i have never done this before and have been told i will need my windows installation disc to load vista and all the drivers on it again, but i do not have it anymore. So is there anyway of doing this. Sorry but as i said earlier i have not got a clue about formatting or cleaning the computer, as never had to do it before. Many, many thanks Clive.

Like this post
onthelimit1

Likes # 0

For a fresh install, you'll have to beg borrow or steal a Vista disk which is the same version as the COA sticker on your laptop (or buy from ebay if you have to). The installation is then easy, but you'll have some problems with driver; if the Ethernet driver isn't included in the windows disk, you'll need to locate the correct one and download it to a memory stick on another computer, then transfer it. Once you have internet access, there are free programmes which will scan the laptop and point you towards download sites (best to choose the manufacturer's own site of the bit of hardware involved).

Like this post
Fruit Bat /\0/\

Likes # 0

Make / model of laptop?

you may be able to rest it to factory conditions.

but then it will have to have all the updates reinstalled but this should happen automatically when it is connected to the internet

Like this post
bluemoon69

Likes # 0