We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Black creen on startup windows vista home

keithbarr60

Likes # 0

Hi guys, first post so go easy on me.

I'm a novice at pc repairs so this might be quite a simple fix or it could be unfixable.

I have an oldish homebuilt pc which is giving me problems. About six months ago it was working perfectly. The next day I powered it up and I got a black screen. Then after a few hours of messing around the psu died. Today I got a new psu and replaced the cmos battery and it started up(well sort of). I got to the msi logo then I got this screen,

AMERICAN Released :03/05/2005 MEGATRENDS AMIBIOS (c) 2003 American Megatrens inc

AMD Athlon (tm) 64 Processor 3000+ Checking NVRAM.. 1048576kb OK DRAM Clock= 400MHz, SDRAM CAS Latency= 3 DEL:Setup F11:Boot Menu F12:Network boot Tab:logo Auto-Detecting Pri Master..IDE Hard Disk Auto-Detecting Pri Slave.. Not Detected Auto-Detecting Sec Master..ATAPI CDROM Auto-Detecting Sec Slave.. ATAPI CDROM Pri Master: YAR41BW0 Maxtor 6Y080L0 Ultra DMA Mode-6 S.M.A.R.T. Capable but disabled Sec Master: VER K036 IDE5232CO Sec Slave : A102 HL-DI-ST DVDRAM GSA-4163B

CMOS/GPNV Checksum Bad

Press f1 to run setup Press f2 to load default values and continue.

So if I press f1 I get the bios screen, f2 it tries to boot up but goes to this screen

Scan Devices.. please wait..... No disk attached