We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

watchingTv on Pc

misters

Likes # 0

Hi im a complete novice about this so please if you can help make it as simple as possible, thank you.

My problem is i recently purchased a PC with a built in tv card and i now would like to watch tv on my pc using windows media centre, i have plugged in my outside aierel to my pc but each time i scan for channels using wmc it find nothing not even a tv signal, the aeiel is fine cause i have no problems using it in my tv.

Can someone please guide me through what i should be doing and am i missing anything?

Thank you.

Like this post
Fruit Bat /\0/\

Likes # 0

Like this post
misters

Likes # 0

The guide was great and i followed it but still no signal, though now i'm not sure if i'm using the right ca ble to connect i was just usink my antenna cable to plug into the back of my computer, but i noticed there is another hole socket just like the one you get in the back of your monitor for sound i think they call it a jack connection there and i'm not sure if i have to use that as well.

Like this post
Fruit Bat /\0/\

Likes # 0

No all you need is the aerial plugged into the aerial socket on the TV card

However if it is an old analogue only card it won't get a signal now we have all gone digital.

Have a look in the menu to set the card for digital if possible.

Like this post
robinofloxley

Likes # 0

If you bought it recently (new) it should be Freeview from the aerial.