We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Linux sound

jon2
Resolved

Likes # 0

I am having trouble with sound, or the lack of it in my Linux OS 2011 system, although I can use skype with no trouble I can't get any sound when I try a video clip from the internet, as I am new to Linux any help would be appreciated.

Like this post
LastChip

Likes # 0

If you hover over the "speaker icon", is the sound turned right up (100%)?

If so, you'll need to find the mixer desk and make sure the channel you want to receive is not muted and is set to a suitable volume. I don't have that distro available to me at the moment, but you may find it in something like: System --> Control Centre.

See how you get on and if you need more help, please come back and tell us.

Like this post
jon2

Likes # 0

have checked the system control for the sound output and it seems set as should be, have tried a few different settings but no good.

Like this post
LastChip

Likes # 0

OK, what sound card do you have?

Like this post
LastChip

Likes # 0

Oh, and which desktop have you got? KDE or LXDE?

Like this post
jon2

Likes # 0

I have a asrock board with onboard sound and its KDE this is the readout from the control centre of Linux (your card use the Alsa snd_intel8*o driver) which is the one I have selected

Like this post
LastChip

Likes # 0

Open a terminal and type:

cat modules

hit Enter

and make sure your driver is listed.

If necessary, type:

q

hit Enter to quit.

Let me know please.

Like this post
LastChip