We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

graphics card help

steman

Likes # 0

Hi guys im not great with pcs, i have seen this PC http://www.acerdirect.co.uk/ACER__A1-PT.SE6E2.025/version.asp which i am interested in getting to replace my current one. I have no real knowledge of this PC although i have seen the specs of one in commet and it is within my budget however the graphics card is described as "Intel HD 170 0 Shared graphics", I want the computer mainly for gaming, i am not too bothered about being able to play games at the highest settings, i have however been told i will need to update the graphics card as it is shared and not dedicated to play new games coming out, is this true? and if so what graphics cards would be best? my budget would be about £70 if someone could suggest one that will be compatible with this PC and will run the likes of battlefield 3 quite well i would be very greatful.

Like this post
iscanut2

Likes # 0

£70 ,ay be too little..I think most so called budget ones will start at over £100.

Like this post
steman

Likes # 0

ok then say £120? any suggestions? other than the graphics card would everything else be able to play new games?

Like this post
ams4127

Likes # 0

The basics of the machine are fine for gaming if you add a decent Graphics card. Probably, as iscanut says, over £100. I would also check what the PSU rating is, it might not be enough to run the card.

Like this post
smurf46

Likes # 0