We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Building System

OCRIDION

Likes # 0

Ok, I've been working with computers since 14, and im now a 20 year old programmer who has never built his own computer. But now im doing it, and its not goign great. The chassis only comes with one SATA Power Connector - Even though there are 6 SATA ports of the motherboard, so I bought a Molex to SATA adapter, this shorted immediatly, so for the moment the only thing plugged into the board is the HDD, the CD Drive will have to wait.

The issue is that I have put my Windows Server 2008 R2 Disc on to my USB Drive following some instructions and trying to use this to install Windows, it works fine. But when getting to the screen where it shows all hard disks it shows my HDD (Unallocated Space), I tell it to create a new volume from it, but i dont think anything happens, because when I tell it to install on the new volume the installer just stays on Copying Files... 0% Forever, then after about 30 minutes it shows an error saying "Could not find the specified disk", after that it goes back to the list of disks and it does not show on there until I restart. I even tried doing it manually by disk part and I get the exact same issue. I get past creating a volume, i list all volumes and it shows, but then I try formatting the volume to NTFS and it fails, i check the volume list again and its dissapeared! Seem not to be able to create volume on the disk.