We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Why does outlook put new mail in the trash?

ened

Likes # 0

I am new to Win 7 and tried Windows Live Mail but (amongst other things) did not like the way it kept putting new emails in a folder called Trash. So, having installed Office 2010,I am using Outlook.

Now Outlook is doing the same thing.

I am struggling to even find how to adjust settings with this.

Can any one give me some pointers?

Like this post
Crosstrainer2

Likes # 0

When you say trash, do you mean the junk mail folder? If so select the emails that are in the junk mail folder, right click and select "Not Junk" you only have to do this once for each sender, then all should arrive in your inbox.

Like this post
ened

Likes # 0

Good morning Crosstrainer2

No I don't mean the Junk Folder. On the left, under my email address are three options: Inbox, Sent and Trash. Yesterday I had several items in my Inbox and today they have been moved into the Trash. When I was using Win. Live Mail they were being moved into the Trash whilst the programme was running.

I have been using Outlook for a few days without this problem, but this morning I needed to access an email from my old machine which I had imported into WLM because I couldn't find a way to import Windows Mail files into Outlook. So I opened up WLM and it seems to have affected Outlook.

Like this post
Crosstrainer2

Likes # 0