We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

External Drive Problem

Phoenix40

Likes # 0

Hello i have a Packard Bell desktop computer which uses Vista Windows and a Nvidia 8400GS graphics card. I have been using a external drive for about 3 years connected by a USB port at the back of my computer for some of my games. I have just discovered that it doesnt seem to be working now. The actual external drive is still flashing green its a Maxtor 500GB drive. But there is no sign that the computer is recognising it now, i have tried reconnecting the USB lead but there is still no recognition from the computer that it is connected. I just wonder if someone can help me to see if its the drive that is broken down and i need a new one or theres a problem with the USB ports.Hope this is enough information for any advice look forward to any help thank you.

Like this post
Nontek

Likes # 0

Have you any problems with any other USB peripherals?

Like this post
Nontek

Likes # 0

I should have added - try another USB peripheral in that same port.

Like this post
Fruit Bat /\0/\

Likes # 0

Ghost device conflicts are the mostly cause especially for devices that are connected and disconnected regularly i.e. pen drives, external drives, mp3 devices and phones.

Remove all USB devices

http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/usbdevicesview.html

Download and run

Uninstall ALL devices that are shown as not connected.

Reboot the machine.