We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Problems With Upgrade

ZeroBreakerS

Likes # 0

Hi, Recently, I upgraded my motherboard, RAM, CPU and Graphics card in my ageing emachines E4040 PC. I bought an ASRock N68C-S UCC Motherboard, some Crucial DDR3 RAM, an AMD Athlon II X3 450 and a Saphire Radeon 5670. I am new to builds, but certainly not to theory and software, so I figured everything would go without a hitch, but when i was building, i saw that my 300w power supply had a 20 pin connector and my motherboard had a 24 pin connector, and connected it without worrying. i checked all the cables were in before booting, but no image came up on the monitor. thinking it may have been a graphics fault, i took out the graphics card and used the internal graphics. this too failed to show an image on the screen. is it the motherboard, or the PSU? i would like some help please.

Like this post
Fruit Bat /\0/\

Likes # 0

Correct CPU for motherboard? AM3 CPU

Motherboard review "Even though this motherboard supports DDR3 memories, it isn’t a socket AM3 motherboard, but a socket AM2+ one. The difference between the two is the presence of a separate voltage line for the CPU embedded memory controller on socket AM3 models, a feature not available on this motherboard."

Like this post
chub_tor

Likes # 0