We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Setting Up Wireless Network with Win7 (64-bit)

kwil2

Likes # 0

Hello... I want to set up a wireless network but, since I’ve never done this before, I’d appreciate some guidance.

I’ll shortly be buying a new PC with Windows 7 (64-bit system) and also a similar laptop. Right now, I’m on XP Home.

Currently, I have a wireless router, but since I’ve no wireless card in my present computer, I connect to the web only through my Ethernet lead.

Getting my router to change to ‘wireless setting’ is easy and I know how to do that. Not being familiar with Win7, though, I think I’m right in saying it has a wizard for taking you through wireless network setup. Yes/No?

So, here’s my query and forgive my ignorance on this:

1. Do I set up the wireless network FIRST via Win7, then set my router to wireless?

OR

1. Set up my router first, then go to Win7 for setup of wireless network?

2. Since I'll want to add the laptop to the newly created network, how do I do this?

Any help or suggestions welcome.

Many thanks

Like this post
ventanas

Likes # 0

Not sure what you mean by setting your router to wireless, mine runs both wireless and wired connections at the same time, and most do. But if you have to, set it wireless first and ensure that it has connected to the internet.