We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Basic 'Back-up' advice please.

Furkin

Likes # 0

DESKTOP (rebuilt) Asus M4A78 + Phenom IIx2 Black CPU. 4Gb ram. W7-SP1 + IE8. C:\ = Samsung 1Tb. E:\ = Seagate 1Tb. I've just installed the Seagate hdd for back-up purposes. I've never done this before so am seeking basic advice please.

I am currently creating my first back-up, which posed a couple of questions:

1) The default schedule is weekly. Is this adequate ? 2) If I develop a problem on my C: drive one day, which I am unaware of, how do I know it isn't transferred to the back-up folder, thereby giving me two versions of one problem ?

Any other advice welcome. cheers

Like this post
robinofloxley

Likes # 0

It is quite complex to think of a perfect strategy and programs to use.

What partitions do you have on first drive?

My Setup as Example: I have

SYSTEM (unlabelled) 200MB Boot partition

C: 135GB (W7 64 Home)

D: 13GB (Recovery incl W7, drivers and bloat)

E: CD/DVD RW

F: 5GB Pagefile

G: 80GB Data and Apps

H: 500MB Logfile type maintenance partiton (seems not used)

[Pagefile does not give me any benefit as a partition above, except some image backup programs back it up if on C:. You would get a performance increase by having your Pagefile on 2nd 1TB internal drive)

My 2nd drive is external USB. I have copied SYSTEM (Boot)and Recovery since these are essential in event of disaster. The rest of my ext drive is just one partition.