We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Netbook Protection Software - advice needed

nicky25

Likes # 0

Hi there,

I have a new netbook and am keen to get the best protection on it I can, but as i am on a very limited budget - I'm a student - I wondered if anyone can recommend the best free downloads to help prevent all the 'nasties'. I'm not entirely computer literate so don't know what all the programmes I should have are. Antivirus, firewall, anti spyware/malware....any others? Suggestions of which free downloads are best, and what exactly I need to get would be much appreciated! :) Nicola

Like this post
onthelimit1

Likes # 0

Anti virus - I'd go for Microsoft Security Essentials. It's a free download and doesn't hog the netbook's resources. Add to that Superantispyware. Again, a free version is available. Then for a scan every once in a while Malwarebytes - free!

Like this post
dms_05

Likes # 0

Agree with MSE (Microsoft Security Essentials) http://www.microsoft.com/security/pc-security/mse.aspx but I'd use it as your only on-line security software. Then use Malwarebytes occasionally to scan your netbook. That's what I do - MSE has never missed anything but it's better to be sure.

Like this post
woodchip

Likes # 1

You Best Protection While its New is Create a Acronis Image to a USB Drive, it will take a long time as they are slow CPU's it took several Hours on my Samsung nc10 netbook, But I know its the best insurance you can have for a PC

Like this post
Fruit Bat /\0/\