We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

building my own website

l953

Likes # 0

hello,
i am looking for some advice on building my own website. the site will be about vintage farming so it is quite a neich market. i am a comlete novice with no knowlage of anything web related other than surfing for myself and ebay. i have been looking for information on the internet but there is so much conflicting info i just dont know what im looking at. the idea of the venture is to give people a comprahensive database of information about the subject posibly incorperate a fourum and eventualy earn some sort of income by way of an affiliate program and an amazon bookshop and any other sources you guys suggest. obviously all this is going to take up alot of webspace and alot of time to construct. where im from there is no work for unqualified people. im 19, i left school at 14 and am just looking for a way to create an income via a subject i enjoy and have alot of knowlage about.
any help much apriciated guys. im gonna need alot of help on this one

Like this post
Forum Editor

Likes # 0

You certainly are. If you have no previous experience of developing a website with a database and forum you are about to hit a massive learning curve.

Start by registering a suitable domain name, and having it hosted somewhere. There are hundreds of domain hosting companies out there, and at 19 years of age I'm guessing money may be tight, so shop around before taking the plunge.