We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Switching from Link Sys Router to Gigabyte

mhurford

Likes # 0

Hi, i need some advice on switching from a linkysys WRT54GSV4 to a gigabyte GN BR32L-RH router, ive tried just installing the new router as per the instructions but to no avail. abit of a technology noob here so is there anything major im likely to miss?

It sends out a signal to my computer and i can create a network that appears and can be found by other computers but no internet comes through whatsoever.

Please ask for any extra information you need as i dont really know what to put here. Thanks in advance to those more technologically blessed than me!

Like this post
Strawballs

Likes # 0

Unplug your modem, your PC and Router from mains leave about 10min first plug your modem back in and leave a few min untill ready light has settled, then plug the router back in and leave a few min then plug PC back in and switch on (leave them all connected together during this proccess) and see if that helps.

Like this post
mhurford

Likes # 0

Ok i will try when im back from work today thanks for the advice.

Like this post
mhurford

Likes # 0

im still having a problem, do i need to do anything to uninstall my old router or change any codes anywhere to match the two routers together?

Like this post
Strawballs

Likes # 0

No you should not need to do that as no software should be on your PC to do with the router, the router is just a gateway to internet

Like this post
mgmcc

Likes # 0