We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Build a shop and gallery for photos

leolas

Likes # 0

Hello,

i'm a hobby photographer and i want to build a website to show my pictures. Later i could imagine to sell some of them (posters). Can anybody spend some references for a programm that is easy to use? it must not open source, but even ot to expensive, too.

Like this post
leolas

Likes # 0

I've a second question. What do you think about online-services like homestead or offline solutions like web to date?

Like this post
Proclaimer

Likes # 0

How many images are you talking about?

If it is just a few, like 30-60 then Serif Webplus would do just fine. If it is 100+ I would think a Shopping Cart like Zencart would be better.

Like this post
Ansolan

Likes # 0

Hi leolas

You might be better to avoid ideas like Homestead, or most online sitebuilders. Better to have a site you are more in control of and can easily adapt to your needs. Ideally building this yourself in (X)HTML/CSS or at worst using one of the better WYSIWYG builders.

Then you can incorporate your choice of image display and one which works well for customers plus search engines. With both in mind, nothing wrong with the type of galleries you see on this site:

click here