We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Career in Web Design & Qualifications

PaulBanks321

Likes # 0

Hi, i am currently studying a Sports Science degree at university. I have come to the conclusion that this area is over-crowded and not interesting anymore.

When i was 16, i was designing logos and websites as a freelancer and did quite well considering i had no teaching or qualifications.

I am eager to understand the different types of qualifications that are available out there; and the different possible ways i can aquire the qualifications i need to take a career in IT Web Design.

Like this post
Forum Editor

Likes # 0

pretty well. There was a time when people considered website design as bit of a mystery - something that was done by a relatively small number of people, and done well by an even smaller number.

Software developers saw a gap in the market, and site construction applications began to pop up like daisies in summer. I say 'construction applications' because that's what they were - software that enabled people to build sites, rather than design them.

There's a difference between designing a site and getting it up onto a server so all the world can see it. Lots of people are very good at site construction but they lack the ability to design - they need someone else's ideas about layout, colour, mood, etc., and they can't write a decent paragraph of text.