We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

philps SNA6500 wireless set up problems

dranrebtims

Likes # 0

I am new to wireless and I am trying to set up a Philips SNA6500 wireless base station with a Philips SNU 5600 wireless USB adapter.

I am using a Dell Dimension 2400 XP sp2

I can get the base station loaded up until I ask it to save my settings. All the settings are pre loaded for ease of installation.. or so I was told.. Then I get an error message saying that ADSL can not be established , please check username and password.

Is it my PC that is too low spec or is it not wireless compatible??

I can get it to work with the ethernet cable connected but I don't see the point of that as I might as well stick with the Sagem modem supplied by Tiscali which works fine.

In desparation I have a question... Can this wireless set up be installed at my local PC shop or does the computer / base station need to be connected to the BT line that it will use at home.

See ,, I told you that I was a beginner.

Like this post
FreeCell

Likes # 0

To answer last question first, not really you need to be connected to your own adsl/phone line to get this working properly, Your local PC shop could just confirm that all the hardware is working properly.