We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

How Do I "Create an association" in the Folders..?

Bingalau

Likes # 0

I'm not quite an absolute beginner, but I feel like one because I can't figure out how to re-act to the following message I keep getting.
"This file does not have a program associated with it for performing this action. Create an association in the Folder Options control panel."
I can get to the Folder Options control panel o.k. but from there on I am lost. I think I need leading by the hand on this one...I don't want to alter something that shouldn't be altered....Bingalau

Like this post
Eric10

Likes # 0

Before you can do anything you need to know what program is supposed to open the file and you must also have it installed on your PC. If you are ok on both these requirements then the easiest way is to right-click the file, choose 'Open With' and 'Choose Program' from the menu. Now either highlight the program in the list or use the Browse button to find it. Before clicking on OK put a tick in the box labelled 'Always use the selected program to open this kind of file'.

If you don't know the program to use then post back with the extension of the file and someone may recognise it.

Like this post
Bingalau

Likes # 0

Eric10 thanks for reply. The extension file is 2.pps and I seem to have a file in the list showing PPS is this the same thing? I am just on yway out for the evening but will follow your instructions when I get back later....once again Thank You... Bingalau.