We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Quicken in Windows 7

Simsy

Likes # 0

Folks,

I've been using Quicken 2000 since 2000. It's worked OK on XP, but I was worried, having read about it elsewhere, that it wouldn't work on Vista or Win 7...

I'm pleased to say that I seem to have it working fine, on both Vista and Windows.

Here's what I did;

1) Copy contents of installation disc to HDD.
2) Right click the setup file, (I think it's called "install.exe" I'm not at home at the moment so I can't be sure of this!), and choose "properties>compatibility"
3) Select Win98/Me as the compatibility mode, and deselect the Video effects choices. There are 2 of them to deselect, but again I can't remember waht they are labelled, but they are both obvious.
4) Apply/OK
5) Run the install file. (Choose the "custom" install and deselect IE4, and probably best to choose Progfiles/Quicken as the installation place, rather that the default which is not in the "Programme Files" folder)

6) When the install has finished, reboot.

7) Apply the steps 2-5 above to the Quicken.exe file.

What deselecting the video choices does is disable the "transparent" and "peek" features while Quicken is running. It re-enables them when you exit the programme.

It seems to be working fine for me in both Vista and Win 7 having followed the above. And it registerd OK over the internet!