Zoom 56k USB Modem / Vista Problem

wuluf 10:08 31 Dec 07

I'm new to this and am a bear of little brain so I hope someone can help we in plain english and not techno speak!

The problem is this...
Bought new PC with Vista(32) on. We are on dial up and so I connected my Zoom 56k V.92 USB Mini External Modem (Model 3090) and tried to install the Vista driver I got off the Zoom Website. Problem is that when I go to Device Manager, the model is not listed as the Zoom one, but as HSF USB V.92 Data/Fax Modem. When I try to install the Vista driver via the update driver button, I get a message saying that it can't find the driver software for the model of Modem.
I've tried to install the original driver for the Zoom Modem but it still doesn't recognise it as a Zoom modem.

I'm stuck. I've emailed Zoom but am waiting for a reply. Can anyone help?

anskyber 10:29 31 Dec 07

Where did you save the new driver?

When you clicked update driver did you click install from a list or specific location (Advanced) and click next then choose Browse so that you can direct things to the place where you downloaded the driver?

wuluf 10:39 31 Dec 07

Hiya
I saved the driver to my memory stick and then navigated to it through the browse option as you described above.

anskyber 11:17 31 Dec 07

This says that the model you have does not have Vista drivers but the Models 3090A/3090AF do. The drivers for the later do not work with the 3090.

click here

wuluf 13:47 31 Dec 07

D'Oh Never noticed that. Thanks

So I guess this means that my modem is not Vista compatible then?

Can anyone suggest any other modems that are vista compatible?

mrwoowoo 23:32 31 Dec 07

Strange this site seems to list your modem with the vista driver.Could try it as nothing to lose.
click here_(rohs)

wuluf 18:06 01 Jan 08

Wow!