Workgroup PC's

  iqs 22 Feb 10
Locked

Hi,

Have networked my main PC running XP Media with my netbook running XP and laptop running Vista

All three show up under show workgroup on all computers.

To make the computers easy to identify,I changed the computer names on the main PC and netbook.

When viewing the workgroup on vista,the old computer names for the PC and netbook are still listed with their new names.

I have tried right clicking the old PC names,but no option to delete is listed.

Any ideas please

  Woolwell 24 Feb 10

I only see the systems that are running at the time.

  iqs 24 Feb 10

Hi Woolwell,Cant understand why this happens only with Vista,tried everything to remove the dead/old workgroup PC's,nothing.
Another reason to hate Vista maybe?.

Cheers

  Woolwell 24 Feb 10

Actually I quite like Vista!
Have you tried right click on them and/or dragging them to recycle bin?

  iqs 25 Feb 10

Yes tried that,they don't want to go...

  Woolwell 25 Feb 10

Found this for Windows 7 but I reckon that it should work for Vista click here

  iqs 26 Feb 10

thanks for the link,will give it a go,cheers

Advertisement

This thread is now locked and can not be replied to.

Windows 10 Home vs Windows 10 Pro comparison: Here are the extra features you get in the Pro version

Behind the scenes at Silverstone, the 70th British Grand Prix: Hisense starts UK push with Red…

How Found created this skateboard, bike and parkour stunts-laden, single-take car ad

Apple Pay UK launch date, UK user guide and participating UK banks | Apple Pay to launch in UK on 1?…

We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message