Windows 7 not genuine?

rickf 15:59 PM 30 Aug 12

I have been using windows 7 ultimate for about 2 years. It validated Ok on installation then. Why am I suddenly getting the message " This copy Windows is not genuine" after installing updates yesterday on booting up?? Can anyone shed some light on this. I am loathed to have to install windows again. MS stinks. Any help appreciated

KRONOS the First 17:08 PM 30 Aug 12

Unfortunately this is not an uncommon problem. Have a look here.

ams4127 23:35 PM 30 Aug 12

Just out of interest, I clicked on that link and Malwarebytes lit up with a warning.

Have you had the same?

KRONOS the First 06:06 AM 31 Aug 12

Certainly did not and this is a site I use regularly. One should not expect security programs are infallible,they have yet to be invented, one should always use a little common sense in these cases.But of course you can just Google activation problems and choose another site. As I said it is a common problem and there is plenty of info out there.:-)

rickf 09:22 AM 31 Aug 12

Hi Chronus, Thanks for your input. I tried what was suggested and it has not worked. Still saying that my copy is not genuine. I shall persist looking for a solution as I belive my copy is genuine even though not bought from MS direct!

KRONOS the First 10:22 AM 31 Aug 12

Try this.

You can reactivate your Windows 7 installation by performing the following:

1. Click on the Start button and in the Start Search box type in: slui.exe 4

2. Press the Enter key on your keyboard.

3. Select your Country.

4. Follow the instructions for phone activation (no charge).

rickf 14:53 PM 07 Sep 12

Not being able to resolve the issue I have bought a new OS. But I am not allowing update and installation of KB 970133, I believe it is. Just unchecked it w/in a batch of new updates. I do feel aggrieved as I believe my copy of wins 7 was genuine.

KRONOS the First 15:00 PM 07 Sep 12