Vista Problems Checker

1972pixie 08:01 09 Jan 08

Morning

Newbie here, so hope i'm not going over old ground ?

My Acer has vista and I recently had some problems, I loaded Regcure which found 1500 or so problems ???

Once it had "repaired (????) " the problem I got more problems.

When I start the machine up I get 5 diffent fatal exception codes, these can just be closed by clicking "OK" but it's a pain.

Plus I get the error application problem with "launchapplication.exe" stating connAPI.dll is missing. When I googled to find what the error it refers to a Nokia application that I have uninstalled ?

Is there a program available that will scan for errors and help me fix them or is that just wishfull thinking ?

Thanks in advance

bobbybowls 08:34 09 Jan 08

i doubt if you had 1500 problems thats just a scare tactic to get you to spend money on a paid for version. if your pc is really that far gone you would be better saving all the files you want to keep to cd/dvd or an external drive and reinstalling windows.

have you posted the problems on this site?

1972pixie 09:01 09 Jan 08

I know your probably right about the 1500 errors, but I seem to be in a worse position now, I can see the :
i)5 fatal exceptions on startup
ii)I get a Mrouter error
iii) I get the launchapplication.exe
iv) O get the connAPI.dll error

Once I have clicked "OK" the system seems to run fine. It's just the pain at startup, and presumably I will get problems ? Hence why I'd like to get rid of the errors.

Thanks

gudgulf 09:21 09 Jan 08

Does RegCure have a backup facility that you could use to undo its *fixes*?

If not try using Vista's System Restore to take the computer back to before you ran RegCure.

1972pixie 09:27 09 Jan 08

I've done a far bit of work on the laptop, since the problems started so don't want to restore. I was to busy to worry about it when it first happened I just need the machine to work, which it does. Butu now I would like to get rid of these few niggles.