Vista Not Installing....

goodog 11:22 20 Feb 07

Hi Guys

Newbie here so please bear with me as I tell you my sad story....
I bought a new pc last October from, well let's call them Mess Computers, you might guess who they are from that. I thought it had a good spec..shown below...

AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 5200+ - Socket AM2
Microsoft® Windows® XP Professional x64 Edition
ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe ,AM2 ,nForce 570 SLI, PCIe - ATX Mainboard
2048MB DDR2 533MHz Memory - (2x 1024MB)
300GB Serial ATA Hard Drive with 16MB Buffer
Super Format SONY 18x Dual Layer DVD Writer +R/-R/RW/RAM
2x 256MB nVIDIA GeForce 7950 GT - nVIDIA SLI™ Configuration
20" Viewsonic VA2012W Multi Media Widescreen TFT Display
Creative Labs Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Music Sound Card

When the pc arrived however, it didn't have either windows XP or the monitor so to use the pc meantime, I used my old Sony CRT monitor and installed Vista 32bit Beta and was duly impressed by the new OS.
The monitor I ordered was unable to be obtained so I was upgraded to an Iiyama 22 inch WS LCD and very nice it is too. I then got my copy of windows XP and installed it only to find that one of the video cards didn't work and, after a bit of testing, it seemed the fault was actually in the MB so the PC was returned to base for repair and when I got it back again everything was as it should be with full sli config and a nice new WS LCD.
So, after a bit my thoughts turned again to Vista and this is where my troubles start. It just won't install...what happens is, it starts off properly and copies the files, then it starts expanding them, gets to 20% and restarts and when it comes back it gets as far as the start up screen with the green bar and then goes to a black screen, the green light remains on the monitor but nothing happens at all and the only thing I can do is abort the install.