Vista dialup connection's stopped working

polymath 16:48 19 Jul 08

If Windows Defender is sufficient malware protection for a short period on broadband, this question's less urgent. (My W.D. is Definition version 1, dated July 2006, so would need updates - is connecting to the update site in itself a secure activity?)

Setting up my newish PC (preinstalled with Vista Home Premium). Coincidentally in process of getting broadband installed (from a mast), which could be any day now. On dialup till then (and still want to keep it as a standby - our dialup/phone bundle makes sense for us).
I'm new to Vista (straight from 98SE).

I'd created a dialup connection in the new PC, tested it briefly with web browsing, and it worked fine. But I can't get it to work now.
It shows as dialling (for long enough to often get through on my older computer). Sometimes it gets as far as 'verifying user name & password' and sometimes it doesn't, but it always ends with the same message, 'The Internet Connectivity Test was unsuccessful', and with the same diagnosis when asked; 'Windows did not find any problems with this computer's network connection'. (There's a button to 'Send details'. But.....).

Possibly a clue; my connection password has 12 characters, but when I look at it in the connection properties via Control Panel it always has 16 asterisks. Does this mean I failed to save it properly (or is it perhaps some extra security thing)?

I've repeatedly removed & recreated the connection (via Control Panel), but always with the same results.

Just to complicate things, although the same thing happens every time it's just possible it's my phone line. It's noisy (sometimes with audible crackles and gaps in the dial tone). But it would take a lot of coincidence for that to account for it.

To uncomplicate things a little, there's no ISP software involved (to create a connection I just need my ISP's phone number, user name & password).