The user is.... YOU.
The Operating System is XP or Windows 7
and a user profile is the OS's remembering all your tweaks and other programs you have installed to use.
If you delete the user profile the OS will be like a Car with no one to hold the steering wheel and work the pedals.
The OS does have a built in Administrators account to fall back on and that can't be deleted.