Paint Shop Pro 8 & Vista

User-1239176 20:07 16 Feb 08

I have a fairly new Dell laptop (with large memory) with Vista installed. I've loaded both Paint Shop Pro 8 and X neither of which gave me any trouble on my old PC with XP. Pro 8 keeps crashing after about 5 minutes use, especially when I try to crop photos. I've given up completely with Pro X which will not work at all. I also can't download from either my Canon or Nikon cameras onto their installed software using Vista - I have to use Windows which is not as good. Can anyone help or advise please? I don't understand computer jargon I'm afraid & I'm not technically clever with computers either! Thanks.

mrwoowoo 21:42 16 Feb 08

If you have a shortcut on your desktop for paint shop pro 8 or x,try this.
Right click on the shortcut and choose properties.
Next click compatability and tick the box to run this programme in compatability mode for... and choose xp from the dropdown.Then click apply and ok.
Hope it helps.

mrwoowoo 21:43 16 Feb 08

As for your cameras you may need to download vista drivers for them.

Kemistri 21:52 16 Feb 08

All the latest Canon utilities, including DPP and the EOS Utility, are compatible with Vista -- according to Canon's website. So I don't see a problem there. I cannot comment about Nikon's software.

I cannot find any information about which of the earlier versions are covered by PSPX2's upgrade license, but I'm sure that v.10 must be included. If you have the budget available, seriously consider an upgrade. click here

ventanas 23:23 16 Feb 08

All versions of PSP from seven onwards work perfectly well in Vista. There are no issues at all except some versions cannot use the Aero graphics, so they just temporarily turn it off. I have all these versions up to X2 installed on a Dell running Vista Home Premium. There is no need to use any compatibility mode. I would remove them, clear out the registry with click here and reinstall