Not another DVD rom problem....

darkreign 21:31 22 Aug 07

...yep. unfortunately.

My LG dvd rom doesn't seem to be recognised by vista. Thinking this was a fault with my dvd rom (seeing as it used to work but has suddenly stopped), I went out and brought another LG one.

Yet my hopes were in vain cos the new one isn't being recognised also. To say i'm a newbie to computer's is an overstatement of the century.

So, my dvd used to work before and allowed me to play games, listen to music, but now, it just gives me the 2 finger treatment. Can't understand what could be causing this! My new dvd rom has the same problem!

Can anybody help?

skidzy 22:21 22 Aug 07

Are the drives recognised in Computer ?

Have a look at my posting click here

darkreign 14:58 23 Aug 07

I have removed the the nero burning software. But still no joy. My drive does not show on 'computer' although it does show a floppy drive...but i have no floppy drive!

Device manager recognises the dvd rom and says the best drivers are already installed. However it still says that it is not fuctioning properly and gives 'code 31' as the reason.

Following the steps in your helpfull link, i'll attempt to remove the filters. But when you click on 'start' there is only a search box where 'run' used to be in xp (the place i think we could type "regedit")! Do i still type in 'regedit' in the search box or does the 'run' option still exist somewhere?

I'll give it a go when i get home, and let you know.

Ta

ps. Doug Knox has an 'xp_cd-dvd fix' link. Will that work with vista and has anybody had success with that?

skidzy 16:11 23 Aug 07

Did you try the tests in my link ? If not:

Code 31

Missing cd/dvd drives can be normally associated with the removal of burning software such as Nero/Roxio/Sonic/Easy CD Creator etc.
And not showing the drive in My Computer.

Try the below link ,if still no luck follow the Procedure of removing the upper and lower filters.

click here