how to uninstall linux ubuntu and install windows 7?

Modern Hippie 01:46 17 Sep 13
Answered

I had a friend who briefly showed me Ubuntu 13.04 and convinced me it was better than windows. He deleted my windows 7 ultimate and installed Ubuntu. I HATE it and want to go back. I have win7 disc and have tried to boot from the CD (yes,I did select boot order for this) but the disc never loads. I just get a black screen and now I am lost and my friend is overseas military and cannot help. Can you please help me? I am a newbie and would pretty much need step by step help. Thanks in advance.

dms_05 08:42 17 Sep 13
Answer

Use the Ubuntu installation DVD/CD as a 'Live' source of Ubuntu. Boot into Ubuntu from the Live CD (at worst you can download a copy of the Live Cd) and then select the Partitioning tool. Use this to repartition your hard disk to one partition and select it to format to NTFS. That should return you to your original hard disk configuration. Now turn off Ubuntu via the menu. Then reboot using your W7 DVD and it should install without any problems.

Your 'friend' could easily have installed Ubuntu as a dual boot with W7 and you could then have taken your pick of OS when you started at boot. Deleting W7 was a rather silly thing to do.

Modern Hippie 12:49 19 Sep 13