downgrading from vista to Xp Pro

jayzinho 00:41 04 Nov 07

i am on the verge of ordering my desktop dell inspiron 531, but it will come with Vista Home Premium. However, I need XP Pro.

I've read some stuff in other forums about 'downgrading' and 'partition' and 'dual boot', but i have no idea what any of that means??!!? i am a bit of a novice (to say the least), but i am scared sh*tless about messing up my desktop when loading XP Pro on there.

i heard that you have to call up Microsoft and get them to 'downgrade' vista, or something like that? can anyone clarify the situation, in simple terms, for a simple guy?

also, when i do load XP Pro, would that mean i would have to reload all the drivers for my hardware again?

pchelper001 15:14 04 Nov 07

you can ask microsoft to downgrade but only if you bought the software for a new pc seperately. If you buy XP Pro you should be able to format the disk on the desktop and install pro without a problem.

pchelper001 15:15 04 Nov 07

ps. you shouldn't have to reload all the drivers as they should be included in pro after some updates.

aine 17:09 04 Nov 07

Why cant you just order XP Pro from DELL? I believe that they do offer this facility Aine

jayzinho 18:03 04 Nov 07

hi, thanks for your info pchelper..

aine, i am tempted to order xp pro from dell with my machine now. before, i wanted the option to install vista on my desktop again in the future, but having found out if i change the operating system it invalidates my warranty, im going to have to get XP Pro with it. which is annoying, seeing as though i already have a copy of xp pro, but if i load it onto my desktop myself, ill have no warranty cover. ordering it from dell would add to the price, but i dont see what option i have.

ventanas 21:20 04 Nov 07

click here

However you may not use a copy of XP that has been supplied with another machine. It must be a full retail (not an upgrade) copy.