catastrophic failure (0x8000FFFF)during Back up.

scroez 18:02 22 Jan 08

Hi I'm wondering if anybody can help please. well when ever I try to back up my system it starts to copy my shadowfiles etc, then a pop up appears with this catastrophic failure (0x8000FFFF) Ive tried everything to try and fix it, but cant find any information on how to fix it.Asking on a number of forums and google'ing the web for days on end to find any help? There seem's to be nothing to fix this problem!! I'm worried that I may have to wipe my C drive and start over again, which I really don't want too. Thanks. BTW, I'm running vista basic, Inspiron 501, duel core etc Oh a bit more information, It seems this problem started when I uninstalled Windows one live care. I haven't got a system restore date to go back to either. I hope anyone can help please, I would say I'm a complete novice. Thanks.

anskyber 19:02 22 Jan 08

When you talk in terms of backing up your system, do you mean system or just the files eg documents?

anskyber 19:08 22 Jan 08

I think the answer probably is that Windows Live One Care has a back up facility in the program.

The various versions of Vista also have a back up facility but NOT vista Basic which you have. click here

I think therefore that when you removed One Care you removed the only files etc back up facility on your PC.

scroez 01:13 23 Jan 08

Nice one yes, Thats what has happen I think,with Windows one care.

scroez 01:24 23 Jan 08

I was using the basic back up, just Data,Music, Pictures, Files etc.

I used to back up once a month, but since removing windows one care I no longer can do this with out this error message.

I have a DVD ( vista Reinstallation disc) from dell, I'm thinking is it worth trying that or waiting for SP1?

but Hopefully I will find away to turn on the vista basic back up.
Cheers for your reply anskyber

anskyber 10:15 23 Jan 08