Zurich Car Insurance

pj123 12:38 21 Apr 08

Great news for me!

Just got a letter from Zurich Car Insurance telling me that I can save up to £212 on my car insurance if I switch to them.

The premium I pay with the (long standing) insurance company I am with is £198.

So, if I switch to Zurich I should be getting car insurance for nothing!!!

I might be tempted to give them a ring.

Stuartli 12:40 21 Apr 08

The operative wording is "..up to £212"...:-)

I'm with Zurich - it cost me £147 for fully comprehensive insurance for my VW Bora.

interzone55 12:45 21 Apr 08

I'd love to get premiums like those, I've been driving for nearly 20 years, never made any claims, only ever got 3 points for speeding & they expired 7 years ago, yet the best quote I got in February was £340 for a diesel Skoda Fabia (group 3) and annual mileage less than 6,000.

pj123 13:00 21 Apr 08

Stuartli, mine is £198 fully comp, any driver (over 25) for my Daewoo Lanos automatic.

Just checked my other car and it is £237 fully comp, any driver (over 25) on a Toyota Corolla 1.3 manual.

Happy to stay where I am.

Strawballs 13:05 21 Apr 08

alan14 a lot depends on your post code and your profession.

ray7 13:14 21 Apr 08

Very interesting....same make and model as mine but I'm paying more. Who's your insurer?

ray7 13:16 21 Apr 08

Sorry, I obviously did'nt read your first post properly. I will try Zurich !

interzone55 13:43 21 Apr 08

Yes, the profession seems to be important, but God alone knows why, I don't drive for a living, I'm only insured for "Social, Domestic, Pleasure & Commuting" anyway, so why does it matter that I sit at a desk and answer calls all day?

I understand why postcode is important, but I don't like in a particularly high crime area...

anskyber 13:43 21 Apr 08

The other issue is the degree of cover, I do not mean comprehensive or third party I mean the extent of their liability.