Windows Scrappage Scheme

jack 09:28 10 Sep 10

Is the heating of a mail received recently
First Car Scrappage
Then Boiler Scrappage
'What now'I thought 'Microsoft trying to get in on this money churning ploy?'
But no- Not yet any way, just another play from a double glazing co.
But in IMHO the both the 'Official' versions were made into 'Scams' by the appropriate bodes by manipulating original sale prices.

Blackhat 09:57 10 Sep 10

I work in the double glazing industry and am aware of the concept of the windows scrappage scheme. It does not exist!

Here is a link to some industry info about the government’s response to the petition for the scheme.
click here

spuds 10:47 10 Sep 10

A few years ago, there was the deputy prime ministers Wind and Watertight grant scheme, which covered replacement windows and the like.

Most council's though, had their own confused methods of how the scheme was to be implemented.Some people gained while others may have lost grant aid payments, due to the way some council's worked.

wiz-king 12:13 10 Sep 10

Apple?

monkeyboy21 12:32 10 Sep 10

There is a Which report in July's magazine which highlights the a sales tactic by some of the leading companies in which they misleadingly refer to the 'Government Windows Scrappage Scheme' when discounting their products. Very underhand as no such scheme exists!

Blackhat 13:35 10 Sep 10

Just to clarify my position, I do not sell directly to members of the public. I own two manufacturing companies. One supplies to domestic trade installers (doors, windows & conservatories) the other supplies to commercial trade installers (shop fronts, curtain walling & aluminium frame windows).

There are still cowboys in our industry, as there are in a lot of trades but we are working towards much better protection for the customer. This link is for anyone considering double glazing in the future.
click here

Covergirl 14:58 10 Sep 10

Absolutely normal practice.

Go into any major supermarket :