Who uses Linux?

Valvegrid 19:37 27 Sep 04

I don't want a Linux v Windows debate because its each to his/her own and the thread would probably go on for ever discussing the pro/cons, so forget windows for now and just concentrate on Linux please.

I am curious to know how many use Linux on a regular basis, what distribution you are using, what problems, if any, you've encountered with it, and why did you decide on that particular distribution?

To start, I'm using Xandros V2.5. No problems installing at all on a HP Pavilion with an nvidia G-force MX4000 graphics card and 3com NIC card for the Internet. The reason I went for Xandros is a guy at work gave me his copy, because he couldn't get on with it, I've been using it consistently with no problems for several months.

I'll be interested to know, because I may install another distro on another computer to try.

Thanks.

dazzling 20:55 27 Sep 04

i had a crack at dual booting xp 98se and mandrake 9.0.installed ok ran ok but wouldnt recognise my modem and yes i did by a hardware one for that purpose only to find it was not suppourted.steep learning curve though.might have another crack sometime but from memory taran is your linux man but havent seenhim here for a while.darren

duckers 22:33 27 Sep 04

Ive used SuSE, Red Hat and Mandrake in various version numbers over the past 4 years, I am no computer/linux guru but have had very few problems.
Admittedly setting up things like file sharing between windows and linux PC's can be a bit of hassle but I got there eventually and some tasks that are pretty mundane and straight forward in windows can also be a strain in linux/unix.
In terms of programming and development tools its a world ahead of windows,, apart from intellisense (in MS visual studio) which i'd have given an arm for at times.