When is free..Really free!

spuds 10:55 19 Jul 04

How many times have you seen the word free, and then checked into the offer of whatever was free.
Is this word becoming far to easy to use, so as to entice people into a false world of something for nothing.

Over the last month or so,I have looked at many free offers,via the internet and junk mail etc, only to find that the free didn't really exist.

Your comments and experiences may bring to light some interesting points and views.

davidg_richmond 14:22 19 Jul 04

How do you mean that something wasn't free?

I work in retail, and have noticed that a lot of people either want money off something or something 'chucked in' for nowt, so I can see why the word free gets used a lot. Its an easy way to get people listening.

For instance, if I sold a laptop at £699 with no case people would want the case chucked in, but if I charged £749 with a 'free' case it would look more attractive to some people. Later, to look even better, I could drop the price to £699 without the case and say 'sale - £50 saving!', but the customer would then pay for the case.

I don't know if this is how the marketing departments of companies work, but it sure sounds logical if you want to get the sales.

Old Shep 18:18 19 Jul 04

Nothing in this life is free. One way or the other you pay for it. On the helproom forum people are saying AVG anti virus is free but I question why it is 'free' when I have to pay for McAfee.

Chegs ® 20:30 19 Jul 04

I always used Mcafee as it was included with my 1st PC purchase.When I upgraded my OS to XP,Mcafee (my version)wouldn't work in XP,so I had to change.I went for the free AVG version.Whilst I was waiting for updated drivers arriving for my hardware,I ran a dual boot with 98se,and about the same time a thread appeared in the Helproom with a link to test whichever AV folk were using.To my utter astonishment,Mcafee FAILED the test,yet AVG passed it without a problem.I have used AVG ever since.