what was the early internet like?

BIG Ben strikes 10 again! 15:40 19 Dec 04

hi,as most of you know i am alot younger than most users on this site,i am 14 (now).i was wondering what the internet was like when it first came about.what do you remember about it?.how many pages were there?.what was the psec of your computer at that time?.cheers

VoG II 15:50 19 Dec 04

You might find click here interesting.

Amyfa 15:57 19 Dec 04

Being only 19 myself I can't go back too far, but I remember the £600 phone bills we used to get as you had to pay per min and not per month as we do now. Also we used dial up then so tied the phone line up as well. I have been using the internet for just over 5 years now and still find it amazing, you can find out anything with a few clicks. click here

Tazfan 16:09 19 Dec 04

I think SLOW and EXPENSIVE just about sums it up.

Forum Editor 16:47 19 Dec 04

at the same time.

I first encountered what we now call the Internet back in the early 1990's. There was no plug 'n play operating system then, and no nice friendly hardware CD to set everything up. Modems were primitive by today's standards and the whole thing took forever to configure. By the time you had entered all the DNS and gateway settings and sorted out why you weren't being authenticated by your ISP's server you were about ready for a long holiday.

There wasn't that much to see when you did get online either, although in the early 90's we got a browser - called Mosaic - which improved things a lot (No Internet Explorer or Netscape then). When I look back I'm amazed at how the Internet has changed in the dozen or so years since I first got involved.

BIG Ben strikes 10 again! 17:09 19 Dec 04

thanks all

spuds 17:23 19 Dec 04

I remember placing my first 'internet' on-line order via my trusty Sinclair and Prestel.

Prestel click here click here

ton 17:38 19 Dec 04

I had free access for quite a while.