Tips for buying a new car?

realist 12:11 12 Jul 07

I always seem to end up paying too much, haggling not being my best suit.

Any tips to save me £££ on my imminent purchase,

I don't really want to buy "online" preferring the after-sales support offered by a local dealership.

Did you get a good deal on your last purchase?

SB23 12:31 12 Jul 07

I did get a good deal with my last car.

The thing is I'm an ex salesman, and don't have problems with haggling. At the end of the day all they can say is no.
My father asked for tips when he was replacing his car last year from a dealership. He walked away with a great money off deal, upgraded stereo, mud flaps and mats. They are always wanting to make a deal, I know, I used to, rather than loose one.
Try it, what have you got to loose, and you may get the deal that you want. Just remember to keep control of the conversation, don't let the saleman tell you what YOU want and can afford.

Steve

anskyber 12:37 12 Jul 07

Two rules for me.

1. Check on the Parkers Guide Target price for aceivable discounts and do not settle for less.click here

2. Buy (it's worth it) an online Glass's Guide valuation for your own if you are trading in. click here

madgamer234 12:42 12 Jul 07

a brand new car? then it has to be - don't.
unless you have loads of dosh and you don't mind losing a fortune by simply driving it home.

oresome 12:59 12 Jul 07

If you're purchasing from a local dealer, go armed with prices on offer from car supermarkets and the like.

Decide how much extra you're prepared to pay for the convenience of purchasing locally.

Show real interest that you wish to purchase and most sales people will be keen to do business if they're in with a chance of making a sale.

newman35 13:06 12 Jul 07

Just remember, be prepared to "Make your play, and walk away".

The threat of losing a sale will spur on the salesman to cut his commission even more.