Time to honour our 1st Police WPC

finerty 18:26 01 Feb 11

click here

Came across this article today. Karpal Kaur Sandhu joined London's Metropolitan Police exactly 40 years ago, on 1 February 1971.

I was probably nearly one years old, Sadly she was murdered by her husband.

Woolwell 19:06 01 Feb 11

First Asian woman PC. The first policewoman was Edith Smith click here.

I'm not sure that anyone should be honoured because of their race white Euroepan or Asian.

Woolwell 19:08 01 Feb 11

I like this bit "One of them is Sameera Bhatti, who is based in Stratford in east London and is a trainee detective constable.

"It shouldn't matter whether I am a female or a male, what religion I come from, what my background is, what country I'm from. At the end of the day the police serves all communities," she said."

sunnystaines 19:37 01 Feb 11

Det Sgt Gurpal Virdi, i thought he was sacked for bogus racial claims.

sunnystaines 19:49 01 Feb 11

article dated 2011. i must have got it wrong, must have been someone similar name

birdface 10:01 02 Feb 11

I have to agree with Woolwell.
[I'm not sure that anyone should be honoured because of their race white Euroepan or Asian.]
Honours should be for outstanding work or bravery in the line of duty.
This springs to mind for me.

click here

dagbladet 10:06 02 Feb 11

buteman

Not sure what message you're trying to convey with that link.

finerty 13:19 02 Feb 11

woolwell and buteman what have you done that is so gallant and so heroic....... may be your jealous that you haven't received a honour or maybe you have been very very lost in your minds for too long unable to recognise common sense, or even hlp your own community.

spuds 13:20 02 Feb 11

Perhaps we should honour all the people of the Commonwealth who helped Great Britain in the various wars, including those from Nepal, who apparently have no rights to stay in the UK?.

birdface 13:44 02 Feb 11

Maybe the first gay policeman or women should also be honoured.