Thermostat does not click.

Bobingrg 10:44 31 Dec 14

I am pretty new to these things. I always turn my central heating on and off using the thermostat and I presume that is the right way. Since last night, the thermostat stooped clicking. Central heating is working but I can neither change the temperature nor turn it off using the thermostat. Any advice please! Your help will be hugely appreciated. Thank you.

Pine Man 11:07 31 Dec 14

Your heating should be turned on and off automatically by the programmer not by manually using thermostat control.

It maybe that continual manual use of the thermostat as an on/off switch has damaged it.

hastelloy 11:13 31 Dec 14

Agree with Pine Man.

My heating is switched on all day but is controlled by the thermostat - when the house is warm it switches off. Thermostats are not sturdy enough to be constantly used as switches.

spuds 11:27 31 Dec 14

Like others have mentioned, we also leave our central heating thermostats to do the job they were intended for, with hardly any human input.

Sounds like the thermostat that you keep using as an on/off switch is damaged and possibly requires replacing. All our radiator thermostat's were change a year or so ago, and the main room thermostat was changed for a wireless unit, that can be moved around the house.

If you are capable of changing or replacing the thermostat's yourself, then look at Toolstation click here or Screwfix click here for samples and prices, plus opening times. YouTube might even offer further help and advice in video form, should you wish to look further into this.

bumpkin 12:57 31 Dec 14

I agree with the other comments. I would think that you need a new one, basic ones are cheap enough and easy to change. Power switched off of course.

bumpkin 20:15 31 Dec 14