Storm-tracking

Forum Editor 19:36 12 Jun 06

It might be helpful if forum members could post with information about thunderstorms as they occur up and down the country.

Each summer we see threads from people who have experienced equipment damage as a result of lightning strikes. With a forum the size of ours it should be fairly easy to provide pretty good real-time data on storm movements as they happen.

octal 19:44 12 Jun 06

I've been using this site for a couple of years to keep an eye on thunderstorms click here

And just out of interest this site gives information on the effect of mains surges and the reason why surge protected sockets might not protect your equipment as well as you would expect in thunderstorms.

click here

ayrmail 20:31 12 Jun 06

An interesting idea regardless of protecting our electrical equipment, I am interested in seeing the speed, quality and quantity of the response.

ayrmail 20:32 12 Jun 06

Sorry meant to say count me in, last storm we had in Dumfries was spectacular.

ade.h 20:39 12 Jun 06

Anyone who does not have all their IT equipment powered via a surge protector with a modem cable socket is just asking for trouble. It's a cheap and simple precaution.

pj123 20:49 12 Jun 06

No sign of any thunderstorms here in Norwich at the moment. In fact today's temperature is higher than it is in Damascus, and even Cyprus (where a friend is on holiday at the moment).

amonra 21:10 12 Jun 06

The electricity pole outside our house got a direct hit about 2 years ago and wiped out all my household appliances including the computer. I was sitting in front of the monitor when it happened and the brown stain is still visible on my chair ! The storm occurred without warning so there was no time to switch off and save anything.