Speeding Policeman

Bingalau 18:30 25 Aug 06

Has anybody seen this item? How do they get away with it? I am also an advanced driver but wouldn't dream of familiarising myself with a new vehicle unless it was on a racing track or a private track of some sort. This was taken from a BBC newsletter I get every evening.

"Discharge for 159mph speeding Pc
A policeman is found guilty of driving dangerously at speeds of 159mph but has "suffered enough", a judge rules." ..Bingalau..

Colin 18:39 25 Aug 06

I'm not condoning his actions, but, as with most headlines, the truth is obscured. The car was not doing 159mph. That car is not capable of that speed. The indicator showing 159mph was not functioning correctly. He was doing in the region of 140mph. OK - that is extremely fast, but he is a trained Police driver and it was in the middle of the night with no other traffic around. You may be interested to know that Police also do pursuit training during the day, amongst normal traffic. Far more dangerous, I think, but the general public think that they are attending a real incident.

Forum Editor 18:39 25 Aug 06

is click here

I can well understand the need for Police drivers to familiarise themselves with fast vehicles, in preparation for the times when they might need to respond at speed, but.......

the familiarisation shouldn't be done on public roads, even if it is in the early hours of the morning. If this driver had been involved in an accident because a 'normal' road user wasn't expecting a car to be travelling at nearly 160 mph the consequences for both the other person and the Police driver would almost certainly have been fatal. This man acted irresponsibly, and has got away with it - the judge was wrong to gve him an absolute dischage.

Forum Editor 18:41 25 Aug 06

from the BBC website - it's not allowed (by them).

I've deleted the second thread in which you did so. My link is to the full story.

Forum Editor 19:06 25 Aug 06