Panasonic Lumix G6 and (physical) noise

exdragon 19:32 06 Aug 13
Answered

Hi - I know there are keen photographers out there, so do any of you have this camera? Mine has a noise which sounds a bit like a lens hunting for focus, even when I've selected the single focus option.

I'm new to Panasonic, so am not sure if this is a fault or not. If I can ascertain if any others have the same thing, I can take it back to be checked.

Thanks

Quickbeam 19:47 06 Aug 13

What lens are you using? I have the 14mm & 45mm primes which are silent for video use, and I flogged the fast 20mm lens because that caused noise on video capture.

Check the Panasonic site here.

exdragon 19:57 06 Aug 13

I've got the 14-140mm but haven't used it for videos.

Quickbeam 20:02 06 Aug 13

Try shooting a minute of video capture and have it focus near and far, and then see if it's picked any noise up on playback.

Quickbeam 20:16 06 Aug 13

They do two with that range. The pretty expensive H-FS14140E and the even more damned expensive H-VS014140E that specifies silent video operation.

Quickbeam 20:25 06 Aug 13

"...even when I've selected the single focus option."

It still needs to find it's focus point, if it's in a low light condition, it will hunt a bit. My 45mm has just done that in the dusk in single focus mode, but focuses instantly with the lights on.

exdragon 21:18 06 Aug 13

I'll give the video a go tomorrow, it's a bit dark now. The lens is the H-FS one and the noise is even there in broad daylight. I haven't experienced this with the Nikon D300 or Sony RX100.

You realise you're my guru now, don't you?

exdragon 08:24 07 Aug 13

I found this on the panasonic website, so perhaps it's normal: