Ouch! Found a new pothole yet?

peter99co 16:02 12 Jan 10

click here

Throughout the cold snap, much of the public's attention has been focused on a shortage of salt for gritting treacherous roads. But Institution of Civil Engineers vice-president Geoff French said the thaw could bring little respite, with drivers having to cope with increasing numbers of potholes.

GANDALF <|:-)> 16:18 12 Jan 10

Geoff French is talking rubbish. There were shed loads of potholes prior to the cold snap and I'm sure that the local councils will blame the recent weather. The roads around where I live are an absolute disgrace and reminiscent of a third world country.

G

babybell 16:33 12 Jan 10

Sadly, he is not talking rubbish. I work in the road surfacing industry and there is nothing more damaging (apart from fire) than frost is to a asphalt surface. Water gets in the cracks and freezes, cracking the bonds between the aggregate which is then made worse once the heavy traffic returns to it. Every town has bad roads, some more than others, but he is right that the pothole situation could get worse after this cold snap

peter99co 16:36 12 Jan 10

Having broken two front springs in one incident I will be looking out for them.

bri-an 16:38 12 Jan 10

...and the question will be, where, in the present economic climate, will the money come from for repairs?
We'll maybe need to get used to potholes and drive slower.
There were never any potholes prior to this present government taking office - it's all GB's fault. (Sorry, just pre-empting the usual conclusions!!)

GANDALF <|:-)> 16:46 12 Jan 10

'and the question will be, where, in the present economic climate, will the money come from for repairs'..of course it would be stupid of me to suggest that it comes from the road tax, extortionate petrol tax and tax on new cars.

G

skeletal 16:47 12 Jan 10

babybell: perhaps you can answer a question that has been puzzling me for years?