New thread prompted by 'Smokers told to clock off'

Snec 19:29 03 Nov 10

When it comes to stopping smoking - if I can do it anyone can. When you take into consideration I never really intended to it shows how easy it can be.

I have been smoking since my schooldays and been what you would call a heavy smoker for over fifty years.

I had no intention of quitting mainly because I enjoy it and I had no fear of the alleged consequences. In my lifetime seven of my friends stopped smoking, at different times. Each one then died between two and five years of stopping. Make of that what you will.

However my wife is now an asthma sufferer and although I was going outside to smoke she could pick up the smell when I went back inside.

I have been using e-cigarettes for over four months now. I no longer smoke – I vape!

I started with a cheapo e-cig and was not really happy with it. It was one of those ‘it’s nearly there but not quite’ situations. So I tried one that was/is reported as being the best available. A lot more expensive of course but I now have four of these and do not miss cigarettes at all.

There is absolutely no odour at all with the e-cigs. Even the keenest nose cannot detect a thing. You seem to be inhaling smoke, but it is not smoke, it’s vapour.

You can choose the level of nicotine to suit you as well as various flavours. Nicotine is absolutely harmless (apart from the addiction factor). It is the other 400 odd toxins that do the alleged harm with normal cigarettes and e-cigs produce none of those.

Another plus to the e-cig is that you don’t light them and because there is no smoke the smoking laws do not apply to e-cigs. You can use them anywhere, pubs, clubs, restaurants, planes – anywhere at all.

So there you are smokers of the forum. Join me – stop smoking, start vaping.

OTT_B 21:55 03 Nov 10

"Nicotine is absolutely harmless"

Errrrrr. Google is your friend.

GANDALF <|:-)> 22:39 03 Nov 10